What is Jada Pose?

 “Teach boys that they are not entitled to women’s bodies.”

So about three weeks ago I was doing my usual scrolling through Instragram, and stumbled across a hasthag that struck my attention. It was #jadapose with a picture of a boy in an awkward laid position on the floor. I thought it was another one of those “planking” jokes, but when I clicked on the hasthag I started seeing posts of a young black girl with braids and lipstick and the words “RAPE” “SUPPORT JADA.”. I read some of the different comments to find out this girl was raped after a house party, and the guys who raped her took a picture of her body laying in a disgruntled position and made it public to social media. People thought it was funny and started making fun of the young girl. They were saying this like “she wasn’t raped for real” “she’s lying” “she took her clothes off, she wanted to have sex.”

article-2688006-1F8DA3F900000578-235_1024x615_large

Let’s pause for a second. When I was reading these comments about this girl and her situation, I couldn’t believe what they were saying! How dare anyone for one, make fun of someone being raped, posing in their position that they were left in? For two, why would this girl have any reason to lie about being raped? It made local news in Houston, and obviously she has no reason to want to lie and be ridiculed on T.V yet alone social media.

These types of actions are participated in what is known as Rape Culture, which is a phrase used to describe a culture in which rape is pervasive and normalized due to societal attitudes about gender, sex, and sexuality. Actions include victim blaming which is what our young people have done to Jada. Rape Culture is something that needs to stop NOW before it’s established as ok for us to do. No matter if this young girl voluntarily gave herself up (which I’m so sure she didn’t) that gives no one the right to make fun of this girl, and ridicule her. How would they like it if that was their mother or better yet their own daughter crying out for help and being a rape victim? It isn’t funny, and it shouldn’t be mocked what so ever.

I support Jada, I pray for her family, and that she remains strong through this crucial time of her life. With the negativity that is going around in her situation, God is pulling her through it all with faith and hope. #supportjada

I-Am-Jada

One thought on “What is Jada Pose?

  1. I definitely couldn’t agree more with you. Rape Culture should indeed stop now. It’s crazy how society can take advantage of someone else’s tragedy in order to promote themselves. Life isn’t a game. A young woman having a piece of her innocence ripped away from her isn’t a game. Men and boys preying upon women and girls isn’t a game and quite frankly I just don’t find rape to be a game. The immaturity and ignorance of our youth just baffles me. There’s no absolute reason why anything about Jada’s situation should be considered “funny” to anyone. Who ever started it should be ashamed! #ISupportJada

    Like

Leave a comment