Is My Black Good Enough?

“I consider myself a crayon, I may not be your favorite color, but one day you’re going to need me.”- Lauryn Hill

What did he just say?!

Yesterday I decided to go to hang out with one of my girl friends at her house. While there, she mentions an Instagram post about a young black male bashing African American women and why we shouldn’t be dated. Calling us a “hassle,” “brainwashed,” and stating that anything besides African American  is acceptable.  When I seen the post, I felt some type of way. It’s like, how can you generalize a group of women based off of where they grew up in and say you would only date Black Brazilians, South American Black women, and other women of the black origin who come from different places just because of your own personal view? Or better yet what society has labeled African American Women. In my opinion that is very ignorant, because all in all, we all came from the same place…AFRICA ! No matter if you are living in North America, South America, Australia, or any other continent.

Let’s be REAL

It’s already bad enough that we have this tendency to compare skin color, and now we’re comparing where each one comes from. My main concern is generalizing EVERY African American woman. I’m pretty sure in South America, Brazil, Dominican Republic, and other countries were blacks live, there are women who are a hassle. Not bashing anyone else, because I love my black culture, but for one to say that African American women shouldn’t be dated is just ignorant. It shows two things. One: the labeling that society can have on a particular group of people has brainwashed others to believe that it applies to everyone that is in that category. Two: This shows that majority of our black women need to step it up. It’s two sides to every situation, and in this particular one, you have to look at what will make a person type that statement. Now, I understand, that we have a tendency to have high rates in single parent homes, child support, poverty, and being sucked into the media with certain shows that degrade us. Yes, it needs to stop, there is always room for improvement, but however, all of that stuff that is said and seen in African American women, doesn’t necessarily apply to ALL of us. And last time I checked, while doing my own research on this topic before I wrote on it, these certain issues that this young man referred to African American women also happens to black women located around the world period.

Black Girls Rock!

No matter where you come from, how you were raised, or your background, all black women are beautiful, strong, and worthy  to be dated. Not every woman comes from that typical black woman stereotype. And for the ones who may have faced such obstacles, uplift them, don’t belittle them or ruin it for other African American women who are the complete opposite of the negativity. Despite ignorant comments discouraging us, we are QUEENS that should be treated as such. Every black woman needs to know that. It’s time to stop comparing one another, dissing our people as a whole, and categorizing women off of stupid things. Look past the stereotypes, and see a woman for who she really is. Because if you don’t then the real person who is so called “brainwashed” is the one who believes that African American women aren’t worthy of a mans time.

One thought on “Is My Black Good Enough?

Leave a comment